Portofino is an Italian fishing village and vacation resort famous for its picturesque harbor and historical association with celebrity and artistic visitors.
The village is nestled in the Metropolitan City of Genoa on the Italian Riviera. The village is actually clustered around its small harbor. Nowadays Portofino is world known by its colorfully painted buildings that line the shore.
Portofino was founded by the Romans and named Portus Delphini, or Port of the Dolphin, according to Pliny the Elder. The origins of the name is in accordance with the large number of dolphins that inhabited the Tigullian Gulf.
“A small village, Portofino, stretches crescent-shaped along the edge of this calm bay.” This was written by Guy de Maupassant when describing Portofino, tiny sea village on the Italian Riviera circumscribed by the green of the Natural Regional Park and Marine Reserve.
The “Piazzetta,” meeting-up point for the international jet-set, is the symbol of Portofino. The port, with its characteristic, brightly-colored houses, is the icon of this borgo’s maritime traditions.
This charming place of the Ligurian Region with its wonderful cultural and nature itineraries make this corner of the Gulf of Tigullio an great destination any time of the year. Of course the tourists most prefer to visit the Portofino during the summer months when the flora is at its most lush.
This splendid sea area resort with its ancient marine culture attract the tourists, celebrities, writers, artists from the whole world.
Saint George’s Church
Saint George’s Church is a place of Catholic worship of Portofino, situated uphill San Giorgio.
According to a plaque inside the Church, the church was built in Romanesque style in 1154. Although were made reconstruction after the second world war-have allowed the discovery of an ancient chapel with a square plan. It probably dating from the time of the Lombards in Liguria.
Castello Brown is a house museum located high above the harbour of Portofino, Italy.
The castle’s site is well suited for harbour defence, and appears to have been so used since the 15th century. According to the Record Office of Genoa, cannon batteries were constructed on the site in the early 16th century. The military engineer Giovanni Maria Olgiati drew up plans for a full fortress circa 1554.
Additional Info: Yamgu , Wikipedia